Okay, Then.


I like to remember your drinks. It’s a little game I play with myself, I guess. Every day I try to memorize at least one regular’s drink. I should try to put names and drinks together, but I mainly just focus on the drinks and the people.

Anyhow, dude comes in today and for the life of me I can’t remember his drink. And it’s an easy one. Really easy. So I tell him “You know, I just can’t remember it for some reason. I’m working on it, though.” He told me he really doesn’t care if we remember his drink; he doesn’t mind telling us what it is each time. In fact, he doesn’t get the attraction to being able to come in and not have to tell us what he wants. He’s kind of the anti-regular in that respect. Interesting.

So, being the joker that I am, I tell him I’ll remember not to remember his drink, since that’s what he wants. “Of course, by remembering not to remember your drink, I suppose I’m remembering that you’re the one who doesn’t want me to remember your drink and maybe that goes against your whole philosophy…?” We had a nice chuckle over that, and I was then reminded of the bank robbery scene from Raising Arizona:

Gale: All right, ya hayseeds, it’s a stick-up. Everybody freeze. Everybody down on the ground.
Hayseed: Well, which is it, young feller? You want I should freeze or get down on the ground? Mean to say, if’n I freeze, I can’t rightly drop. And if’n I drop, I’m a-gonna be in motion. You see…
Gale: Shut up!
Hayseed: Okay then.

Thank you and good night!

3 Comments

Filed under *The Coffee Shop Days*, Humor, Oh The Humanity!

3 responses to “Okay, Then.

  1. LOL! I’m rewatching that movie this weekend. It is so good.

  2. geekergosum

    I feel bad about this as I’m the kind of person who will order the same drink for ages until it becomes assumed that’s what I want then abruptly change my mind. I may be like your customer, I want to tell them as it means as I like to feel I’m being friendly and having a conversation rather than going ‘yes please’.
    But then I’m also the kind of person who talks to cold callers and lets Jehovah Witnesses in.

Leave a Reply

