I Have A Confession To Make


I’m a Weird Al fan.

I wouldn’t say I’m a fanboy; I don’t follow him on tour for weeks at a time. I have seen him live. Once. It was one of the best shows I’ve seen, and I have seen some pretty good shows. He’s funny as fuck. He has a ridiculously talented band. And he’s no slouch, either.

Many people, if not most people, know him for his parody songs, which are quite good and are pretty well-received by the artists he’s parodying. And then there are the polka-medleys, snapshots of recent top 40 hits performed with a spunky polka sound. But those are complete shit compared to his original songs and those he refers to as pastiche songs, where he doesn’t specifically parody a song, rather a band’s sound.

Blah blah blah. Check out this three-song set on NPR’s Tiny Desk Concert. Here you’ll find two of my favorite originals (Good Old Days and You Don’t Love Me Anymore) and a new one, the White Stripes pastiche CNR, an ode to Charles Nelson Riley. Yeah, really.

I bring you this stuff today because I’m kinda stuck for other material and because a friend shared with me these two posts from Al’s blog: Al struggles to get Lady Gaga to approve a parody and Al sets the record straight.

So there it is.

Edit: It would appear that Skynet hasn’t yet launched its attack. There’s still time.

2 Comments

Filed under *The Coffee Shop Days*, Music and Entertainment

2 responses to “I Have A Confession To Make

  1. Growing up I thought Weird Al was hilarious, but I never gave him much thought after that. Then, last year I happened to be at my County Fair the same night Weird Al was performing. I was very surprised at the number of people who had driven hours to come and see him. He drew a really crowd. I listened to a few songs. I get his appeal. He’s funny, smart and talented. It had been years since I thought of him.

Leave a Reply

