Five Item Survival Kit


In honor of the startling fact that I have five subscribers (oh my!)  and because I hadn’t thought of anything else to write about today, I’m gonna do a spin on the old Desert Island Discs and the ever-popular Five Things You Can’t Live Without memes. Which I’m sure has never been done before evar in the whole history of shit like this.

Here’s the scenario: You, my dear friend, have been selected to take part in a scientific experiment and must spend five years alone on a deserted island. Or maybe you’ve been sentenced to spend five years in solitary confinement. Perhaps you’re stranded on a backwater moon in the far reaches of the galaxy and it’s gonna be five years before you’re rescued. You get the idea: Five years. Alone.

You can have one each of the five following items, which have either been carefully packed away by The Scientists, smuggled in on your person or have miraculously survived the crash. Maybe aliens left them there for you. Whatever, I leave the details up to you.

You get: One CD (or vinyl if you prefer), one book, one movie, one food or beverage item and one household item.

We will assume that there’s fresh water, shelter (obvious if you’re in prison), a supply of edible plants and animals, electricity and whatever appliances required to play the music and movie (what’s the point of having them if you can’t enjoy them?). These don’t count against your Five Item Survival Kit. And remember, you’re gonna be retrieved, rescued or released in five years. You’re not stuck with this stuff forever.

CD: I had to think about this for a while before landing on Quadrophenia by The Who. One of my favorite albums when I was younger, it still gives me a lot of pleasure to listen to it. And even 27 years after its release, they still rocked those songs. Check out John Entwistle’s solo on this.

Book: The Stand, by Stephen King. Both times I’ve read this I’ve gotten a kick-my-ass cold just as I started reading. Spooky. But it’s long, and it’s a good read and there’s a kabillion things going on in the story to occupy my mind while it slowly unravels. My mind, not the story.

Movie: No brainer, here. Butch Cassidy And The Sundance Kid. I mean, really. What did you expect me to say? Seriously, though, this movie has been a favorite of mine since I first saw it. In a theater. When it came out. Five million years ago. I love the chemistry between Redford and Newman (Etta says I have a man-crush on Robert Redford) throughout the film. Plus, there’s bank robbing, train robbing, chases, shootouts, a bitchin’ montage and this WTF? moment (which I happen to love). And the sexy Katherine Ross.

Food/Beverage: I thought about this for a bit, almost separated the two and made it one food, one beverage. Then I said fuck that, because I’m taking coffee. And because I’m taking coffee, I need…

Household Item: My french press. God, I love my french press. I will never make coffee at home in anything else, ever again. To paraphrase Joan Crawford: “No. Coffee. Makers. EVER!

There’s my list. I would love to see yours, either in the comments or on your own blog post.

Edit: fuck. I’m going to find a way to sneak this in.

2 Comments

Filed under *The Coffee Shop Days*, What If

2 responses to “Five Item Survival Kit

  1. Jackie Paulson 1966

    Book: The Stand, by Stephen King. Both times I’ve read this I’ve gotten a kick-my-ass cold just as I started reading. Spooky. But it’s long, and it’s a good read and there’s a kabillion things going on in the story to occupy my mind while it slowly unravels. My mind, not the story.
    I loved this movie and cannot wait to get the book. I am waiting to get the used book. Great blog.

  2. Thanks, Jackie. Glad you’re enjoying my ramblings. And yes, I think you will really like the book.

Leave a Reply

